Hypothyroidism and ME/CFS…

Apologies if I’ve posted this twice. I know I’ve written it somewhere, I just can’t remember where. I think it was on a website I’ve contributed to. I’ve also corrected the typo in the title!

.

The following is based on my personal experience, and a huge amount of research. I didn’t just rush into this; I knew exactly what I was doing and why I was doing it.

I would exhort anyone who is being recommended to take a course of action that involves any drugs to research it thoroughly. Start by verifying what I’m about to tell you (OK, you can’t verify the personal stuff, but you know what I mean).

Some years ago, when I was showing the classic signs of thyroid deficiency (hypothyroidism) – ridged nails, dramatic body and facial hair loss (as well as all the ME symptoms that can be exacerbated by hypothyroidism, especially fatigue) – I went to my GP for a thyroid function test; it came back normal. Normal, for thyroid function, means that you are somewhere on quite a wide-ranging scale – and that’s where the trouble starts if, like me, you are near the bottom end of normal. If you are high normal, this is not for you.

Some doctors – mine isn’t one – feel that the higher up the scale you are, the better and, given that my symptoms were getting no better, I took matters into my own hands and ordered myself a supply of 25 microgram Thyroxine tablets (the lowest dose available). I took one a day, at breakfast (actually, for breakfast, along with my usual vitamins and supplements – I don’t normally eat breakfast), and almost immediately began to improve. I felt better in a day or two, with far more energy (for a given value of “energy” – after all, this is ME/CFS we’re dealing with), and slowly my hair grew back – it was nice to have eyebrows again! – and I was able to re-grow my beard that I’d shaved down to a goatee because it had become so patchy and thin. Some of my receding hair grew back eventually, though just as a white fuzz that I shave off. Hypothyroidism is often thought of as a woman’s problem – not so, it’s no respecter of gender.

Over 5 years on, I still take Thyroxine daily, and while my nails never did recover completely, within the confines of ME, I feel – and look – much better than I did before. I have had several thyroid function tests since starting supplementation and I am now comfortably mid-scale.

I would certainly have no hesitation – as long as someone knows for sure they are low normal – in recommending that they try a low dose of Thyroxine. It’s cheap and, at this level, is extremely unlikely to cause any side effects – and, not everyone knows this, but importing medical drugs for personal use is perfectly legal. I bring in several, have done for some years, almost always from Inhouse Pharmacy . I’ve dealt with them for years, and they’re a very good company, their prices are very good, too and delivery is reasonably quick, often no more than a week. The drugs you get will be supplied from Fiji, and sourced from the New Zealand market. Other than that, they’re the same as you’d get on prescription from your local pharmacy.

A caveat: At 25mcg daily (or 50, the dose I graduated to and still take – I buy 0.1mg tablets (100 microgram), and cut them in half with a tablet splitter), Thyroxine will not harm you provided you are, indeed, low normal. It is, though, vital to get a thyroid function test and find out. Don’t just guess!

This is not a drug to take liberties with and the consequences of Thyroxine abuse can be extremely serious. You should never, for example, take Thyroxine to try to lose weight – not unless you want to give your pall-bearers an easy job.

Note also that, if you have properly-diagnosed hypothyroidism, you should certainly not treat it yourself. This article is purely for those who are low normal and would like to be higher up the scale, and feel better for it.

One thought on “Hypothyroidism and ME/CFS…

Comments are closed.