UK’s Paralympian’s can put the plight of disabled people centre stage – but will they?

Yes, I know there’s a rogue apostrophe in the title, but I can’t fix it without screwing up Google’s listing.

***

British Paralympic Association unveils ‘five-year vision’ with strategic plan that aims to use profile of London 2012 to help ‘inspire a better world for disabled people,’ while Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson also says “It’s important to recognise that the cuts will affect Paralympians, who have higher living costs as a result of their impairment.” (Source, Monday’s Guardian.)

Just one tiny snag – Paralympians are a tiny part of the disabled community, very many of whom also “…have higher living costs as a result of their impairment,”  and very few of whom can afford to wait five years in the hope that things might improve.

Anyway, I am far from convinced that a few super-fit disabled athletes will be viewed in the same light as a disabled bloke lurching down the road on crutches.

We are being asked to believe that a populace that largely thinks footballers are several cuts above ordinary mortals – and in many cases above the law, too, especially when it comes to rape – and in the past have shown themselves to be so goddamned stupid that they can’t tell a paediatrician from a paedophile – we’re being asked to believe that these people will identify finely honed, disabled athletes with this country’s population of disabled people, and that this will raise the latter’s stock in some as yet undefined way. Seriously?

Well, I’m sorry, as a member of that population, I’m simply not buying it.  It’s very much a case of jam tomorrow, and as many of us know from experience, it’s always tomorrow.  Except, of course, now there are plans to ensure there will be no jam. And as a result, for some, no tomorrow either.

The disabled people of this country are suffering, and dying, right now – they need  help right now – and disabled athletes at the Paralympic Games are perfectly placed to bring this disastrous state of affairs to the attention of the whole world’s media – very, very, loudly.

The only question is – will they?

Note: Yes, I do know athletes are prohibited from making overtly political statements – I wonder why?! – but a few words dropped in the right ear, as an unattributable “reliable source” would get the job done. There’s a lot of athletes, and a few words each would be a massive input . And, of course, they all have families who can say what the hell they like to whomever they like.

But yeah, screw the games and make the protest! It’s an issue that’s a bloody sight more important than a few medals. But, as has been mentioned in the comments, I really can’t see that happening.

prohibited from making overtly political statements – I wonder why?! – but a few words dropped in the right ear, as an unattributable “reliable source” would get the job done. There’s a lot of athletes, and a few words each would be a massive input . And, of course, they all have families who can say what the hell they like to whomever they like.

But yeah, screw the games and make the protest! It’s an issue that’s a bloody sight more important than a few medals. But I can’t see it happening. Hope I’m wrong though.

10 thoughts on “UK’s Paralympian’s can put the plight of disabled people centre stage – but will they?

    • Yep, I got that – thanks. Knowing the Express it’ll make me angry, so I’ll save it til morning. Otherwise I’ll be fuming all night, and I’m already pretty pissed off with the BS from the Paralympians and their idiot 5-year plan! Moaning about their higher costs than normal – pretty much every disabled person has higher costs than normal, even if it’s on;y higher electricity and heating bills because many of us are at home all day.

  1. Wouldn’t it be great if they made banners telling the whole world what’s happening to the sick and disabled of this country? I suppose I can only dream about that happening though.

    • I think they’re actually prohibited from making overtly political statements – I wonder why?! – but a few words dropped in the right ear, as an unattributable “reliable source” would get the job done. There’s a lot of athletes, and a few words each would be a massive input . And, of course, they all have families who can say what the hell they like to whomever they like.

      But yeah, screw the games and make the protest! It’s an issue that’s a bloody sight more important than a few medals. But, as you say, it’ll never happen.

      I do think, though, that Dame Tanni G-T could do, and say, more than just a general-purpose whinge about athletes having higher costs because of their disabilities.

      So do I, and you, and very many disabled people. It’s a fact of life, not unique to athletes! And, frankly, that’s what pissed me off yesterday. I tweeted about it – it sank like a lead balloon without a single RT – and you know what I think of that.

  2. Hi Ron Good Luck at the hospital , Tinking of you. I hate hospitals. Spent 5 hours in total pain crying withit and no one can to see me I was in A&E.
    I got a doctor to se me and I told here if she did not get me treated right away I would ohone the local press. I got on the ward very qwick.

    • Hey Tony, hope your ok now, but, your lucky you didnt get chucked out for being abusive, even though you were in pain…I was thrown out, and nearly died with abcess on my cancerous bowel…because I said a few not allowed words , was in AGONY…had waited 2 hours with paracetamol for pain, (justified pain)….ended up on life support, tracky etc, MRSA…..COR, your lucky :) Heart, Soul and Spirits, please send to Ron GRAVES :)

Comments are closed.