2013 looms, with more cuts and the continuing persecution by IDS…

2013 ushers in the bulk of this malign government’s cuts, most targeting the chronically sick and disabled. Doubtless this will be justified with claims of not giving the skivers and the workshy, which is what IDS and Osborne would love the public to think of us as, more money than we deserve, despite that it’s a long-established fact that being chronically sick and disabled actually costs more than being fit and well. Just one example – everything I buy, from food, to clothes, to books, has to be delivered, and that costs a small fortune.

IDS, in his rare more or less rational moments (increasingly bloody rare), will tell you that those who don’t work (for which read CAN’T work), should not be paid more than those who do.

I agree.

The answer, though, is not to pay those of us already teetering on the edge of poverty less, but to pay those who are able to work a living wage! Sadly, logic, even sanity, have no place in IDS’s obscenely perverted world view – he’d far rather persecute us than help us..

And despite what IDS seems to believe (for which read “makes up as he goes along”), what we get is not money for nothing – every penny is paid for, and I don’t mean in taxes.

This is the currency in which I pay for my benefits (NB: Not looking for sympathy, just making a point):-

it’s for suffering severe, intransigent pain 24/7/365 since 1983, when I was struck by lightning, which damaged almost all of my joints, and, literally, fried my feet;

it’s for osteo arthritis in my hips, knees, hands, elbows, and all the tiny joints in my feet (I have had o-a since I was 32, but the damage from the lighting strike greatly worsened the situation);

it’s for suffering the horrors of ME/CFS for 27 years, in the face of almost universal disbelief and calumny, a torrent of quackery and a total absence of valid treatment;

it’s for having no immune system to speak of;

it’s for being unable to breathe, other than with difficulty, due to severe, and worsening, COPD (I’ve never smoked, I didn’t need to, as 60 years of living and working with smokers did more than enough damage), and I suffered from the precursors to my COPD – asthma and bronchiectasis –  all my life;

it’s for now having a terminal heart condition, not improved by the staggering incompetence of the medical profession;

it’s for spending much of  my life in a wheelchair (though not nearly as much as I sensibly should), and for a great deal more, all of which prevents me from working.

I have worked, by the way, against medical advice, until I was 40, losing almost every job along the way because of excessive sick leave until, by 1986, I was too ill even to look for work.

And bear in mind that I am by no means unique – hundreds of thousands of people are in a similar position, many are much worse than I am, and almost all are at risk from the deranged machinations of IDS.

Our benefits are vital to our continued existence, and we all pay for them  with the same currency of suffering – only the detail changes, not the fact.

2 thoughts on “2013 looms, with more cuts and the continuing persecution by IDS…

  1. Well said Ron! Don’t forget that everything we buy, everything we pay for in bills, everything else we do, we pay VAT – that’s a tax as well as all the other taxes on almost everything we do or don’t need – is TAXED! So we do pay our taxes – we paid our taxes when we worked from a young age of 15/16 to when or disabilities stopped us from working! We didn’t ask to stop work, we didn’t ask to become disabled to an extent that we truly can’t work, and we certainly didn’t ask to be looked upon as the scourge of society!

  2. Pingback: 2013 looms, with more cuts and the continuing persecution by IDS… | Welfare, Disability, Politics and People's Right's | Scoop.it

Comments are closed.