A Soup of Courgettes, Peppers, Carrots, and Peas…

A Soup of Baby Courgettes, Peppers, Carrots, and Peas…

***

Makes roughly 3 litres.

***

400g baby courgettes, trimmed, wiped, and chopped

1 medium-sized yellow bell pepper, ditto and de-seeded

400g frozen peas

2 or 3 medium onions, peeled and chopped

1 large-ish Echalion shallot

3 med carrots, ditto

¼ teaspoon celery salt

50g butter

2 Kallo Organic veg stock cubes

Marigold stock powder, to taste (which turned out to be 1.5 teaspoons

¼ teaspoon black pepper

1 or 2 garlic cloves, peeled, softened and mashed into the soup (optional)

Small handful of  flat-leaf parsley, finely chopped

A small pinch of dried mint – and I stress small – if liked, with a little vinegar, too, perks it up nicely. Too much and you’ll have pea-flavoured mint soup!

***

Gently sweat off the onions, carrots, and shallot in the butter until the onions are soft but not coloured (using both shallots and onions will give a greater depth of flavour), add everything up to and including the Kallo cubes, cover with boiling water, reduce to a simmer and cook, covered, until the carrots are soft.

Blitz in portions then push through a medium sieve. Discard the debris and stir in Marigold powder to taste (see above), adding hot water to bring up to about 3 litres, or to your preferred consistency. Also add the parsley, and mint if using, at this point.

***

The yellow pepper adds a fruity note and a touch of sweetness, without affecting the colour. A red pepper would give much the same flavour but with an undesirable rusty colour, and I’ve never seen the point of green peppers, which are simply unripe.

***

As the veg will be blitzed in a blender/food processor,  and pushed through a sieve (essential, as pea skins can leave lots of straw-like shards), there’s no need to chop too finely. Do cook the carrots, cut smaller, for longer than the other veg, though. Don’t peel the courgettes – you’ll lose the colour.

And as with the pea soup a couple of weeks ago, cooking frozen peas in quantity takes longer than you’d expect (much longer than just cooking up a portion or two for a meal).

Spoonie rating:-

spoonie spoonspoonie spoonspoonie spoonspoonie spoon

Prep can be easy so I’m inclined to give it one spoon for the basics. Unless you can find a volunteer to push it through a sieve after blitzing, then I’m afraid it takes it up to three spoons. Maybe even four depending on how painful you find it. I suspect that a food processor will give a smoother finish than a blender, though and I’ve ordered a small one.

4 thoughts on “A Soup of Courgettes, Peppers, Carrots, and Peas…

  1. I make a lot of soup and use a stick blender and whizz it round in the pot itself when cooled. Of course you can do it straight away which is more risky as it’s hot – it can take a few minutes to ensure all pieces are blended. The one I have is a Kenwood and the blade end is detachable and can be slung in the sink. Would this method be easier or more difficult for you?
    I keep greens/cabbage/broccoli stalks, last bits of celery, the odd courgette – anything can go in and adds to flavour though to be honest I’ve never included peas. Best wishes, Pat

    • I have a stick blender, as well as the heavy glass goblet blender from my Kenwood Chef Premier, but neither give me the results I’m looking for, mainly because both designs rely on blade speed and brute force rather than sharpness, so I’ve ordered one of these http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001C3DRDG/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 – the razor-sharp S-blade should get the job done. I’d like something a little more comprehensive but the choices seem to be very basic, like this one, or those with gadgets I’ll never use and are pointless paying the extra for.

      You might find some of my “Bottom of the fridge soup” recipes worth a look. And Parmesan rinds are always worth tossing in the freezer as future soup ingredients.

  2. I’ll be quite frank with you, I am at a loss as to how you think of anything outside of what you are coping with …
    If you are up to it, weekday mornings 10-1, I can recommend James O’Brien on LBC97.3 especially Mystery Hour Thursdays 12-1… very entertaining.
    On the bread front, I am beginning to understand more about yeast. I thought yeast was, well…yeast. Turns out I am using instant stuff really meant for bread machines (no thanks) and apparently it does not have enough clout to make wholemeal flour rise. I have checked out Fermipan on line…there seems to be various types. Do you use red ?
    Really Ron, no response until you are <5 – or is that wishful thinking?

Comments are closed.