Home-made celery salt updated…  

I get through quite a bit of celery salt and, time was, I made my own. Then my seed supplier was taken over, quality plummeted, and I couldn’t find another supplier of celery seed (or mustard seed – I used to make my own whole-grain mustard too**).

**I don’t like the stuff (but I do like to learn new techniques), so gave most of it away – reviews were extremely favourable.

Anyway, I’ve been buying quite a lot of stuff from Healthy Supplies of late (mainly organic pulses, herbs and spices, and Hungarian Paprika, and I eventually spotted than they have organic celery seed, so I bought a pack to test the water.

First impression was that the seed was very clean, with a minimum of plant debris (celery seeds are small, and removing the crap difficult, so most seem not to even try). The seed looked so good that I decided that I’d pay attention to what I was doing, and measure the ingredients instead of just tossing them together.

It’s perhaps worth mentioning that, when cooking, unless I’m making notes** to publish a recipe, I measure nothing – I cook entirely by instinct. You might think that means every version of a dish that I make comes out different, but it doesn’t.

**Oh, who am I kidding – it doesn’t even happen then. It might say 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, or whatever, what it got was an unmeasured splash! But I record it as a tablespoon as, while my splashes are consistent (I’ve measured them), the term is effectively meaningless to anyone else (baking, of course, is different – there, you need precision). But, back on topic…

It’s quite simple – equal parts, by volume, of celery seed and Maldon Sea Salt flakes, in this instance, 3 tablespoons (measuring spoons, not cutlery), of each, which gave me enough to almost fill a jar that once held 90 100mg B6 tablets. I recycle all my supplement and drug bottles, especially glass ones, as they usually clean up nicely, with no residue to taint whatever goes in next.

I have a coffee mill, a Krups F203, reserved purely for grinding spices and herbs, and capable of reducing whatever is put into it to a fine powder – if you want it to (I’ve tried a blender, you just can’t get it fine enough). It’s the type with whirling blades, not the best design for uniformly grinding coffee beans, but perfect for herbs and spices. Fast, too.

So, measure out your salt and seeds, blitz them together, in batches as the F203 has a small hopper, not a bad thing as it prevents the contents from overheating.

Tip the result into a small jar, brush out the hopper and add that to the jar too, label and date it (the expiry date of the seeds will do – the salt preserves them), cap tightly and stash in a dark cupboard (light and air are, as ever, the enemy).

NB: I’ve tried both fine sea salt and Maldon flakes, and the slight stickiness of the flakes stops the ground salt and seeds from separating while stored. It also tastes much better. And by using a 50-50 mix of seeds and salt it’s easy to keep track of how much salt has been used.

 

4 thoughts on “Home-made celery salt updated…  

    • Not as such, but I do have some of this http://ronsrants.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/my-revised-harissa-blend/ whizzed in the spice mill until very fine, put through a fine sieve to remove any surviving big bits (there weren’t any so you could maybe skip that), and put into a salt cellar** 50-50 with fine sea salt, to use as a condiment.

      **The type with one large hole is probably best as multiple small holes tend to block. That was why I added the salt, but it didn’t work.

      Tastes good on pretty much anything. Perks up a salad nicely, as well.

        • It’s traditional to mix the dry Harissa with oil. I’ve found doing that, even with the tiny amount of Cayenne I use, makes it incredibly hot. Putting the dry mix in soups or stews, or using it as a condiment (great on cottage cheese and/or hard-boiled eggs), is fine. It’s just oil that’s the problem and I’ve no idea why.

          I originally bought this http://www.healthysupplies.co.uk/harissa-mix.html but with four hot or hot-ish ingredients (not counting mint), chillies, Cayenne, coriander and cumin, it was way too hot. My blend keeps all the fragrance, with just a little heat and, should you want more heat, adding more Cayenne a little at a time (it’s extremely hot), is easily controllable.

          I don’t know if you’re a veggie, but so far I’m finding it goes just as well with veggie food as it did with meat (it’s amazing in a lamb stew).

Leave a Reply

