Steroid Wars . . .

Back in the early 90s Prednisolone tablets were on my repeat list and had been for some time. Stranded away from home for weeks – long story – my health deteriorated dramatically  and, in the absence of any overt symptoms, I started a course of Prednisolone, 30mg daily. My response was even more

dramatic than my decline, and I improved rapidly.

To me, this suggested an inherent cortisol deficit** which, when I finally got home, I went to my GP to discuss. No discussion – he simply cut off my supply.

**Hardly surprising given my history of prescription steroid use. It’s a known side effect.

This morning I’ve been told that I have the indications of long-term cortisol deficiency. Pissed off, much?

So this will initially be treated with i-v steroids, and followed with – as far as I could tell – permanent Prednisolone tablets. OK, of itself no biggie – what’s a few more tablets? – but if I’ve been so very much sicker than I need have been for 20 years I know  couple of GPs who had better look to their malpractice insurance, because I intend to rip them each a new arsehole!

5 thoughts on “Steroid Wars . . .

  1. We are all just guinea pigs, but now fortunate enough to have internet. I go in hospital on Tuesday, got letter today for acceptance of bed and confirmation phone number incorrect, surgeon listed incorrect and have me listed as Daycase, which is incorrect and I’m not even there yet.

  2. hI rON, i READ NOT SO LONG AGO OF A FAMILY IN aUSTRALIA WHO ARE ALL ASTHMATIC, BUT NEVER LEAVE HOME WITHOUT A FEW PREDS. AND IF THEY FEEL BREATHLESS, TAKE A COUPLE, I ASKED MY DOC ABOUT THIS, AND HE SAID 2 WOULDN’T DO ANY GOOD.

Comments are closed.