Samsung Galaxy S3

If you’re going into hospital, a smartphone is really essential, as the surprising number of people with dumb phones found out to their cost.

So, sunk deep into whatever fuckuppery was currently masquerading as rational thought, a few weeks before being hauled away to APH I bought a SIM-free Samsung Galaxy S3 (Amazon), and a tenner-a-month mobile data contract from Virgin. I didn’t need the Galaxy, you understand, but man, I wanted it! I don’t do product endorsements unless I’ve used them myself extensively, and no, I wouldn’t do it for money, but feel free to ask – I might be lying 😉 and the S3 has had a real baptism of fire.

The phone, I have to say, is simply an amazing piece of kit, and did 99.9% of everything I asked of it. What struck me though, connected to Virgin via the hospital’s wi-fi (a connection that persisted for two days back home before dropping out – the hospital is 4+ miles away, go figure), was that it was staggeringly fast – every bit as fast as it is here, sitting feet from my router.

It was essential, I found, to let the phone locate and connect to the hospital service automatically for trouble-free functioning. Connect manually and it malfunctioned like buggery. Nope, sorry, no idea why.

It’s remarkably robust, too; despite having been dropped onto a vinyl tiled floor several times, and on one occasion also doused in hot Bovril, it continues to function perfectly.

I found the onboard virtual keypad something of a trial, though, and not wildly accurate in either vertical or horizontal mode, but a Bluetooth keyboard will fix that as well as allowing faster typing.

Don’t forget to install an anti-virus app – I use the free mobile version of avast! I now use the paid-for version for the extra assurance given that I can be online 24/7, but I’ve used the free version on my PCs for years and never been let down.

Finally, in a hospital or similar environment, look to your security – the default swipe to unlock is entirely inadequate – set up a password at the very least. And never leave the phone lying around unattended – or £400’s worth of electronics is very likely to go walkies.

And – just the teeniest bit important, this – don’t forget your charger and the longest USB lead you have.

13 thoughts on “Samsung Galaxy S3

  1. I would second that. with the right apps you can also ‘run’ your home/finances when in hospital. Being able to read and send email is invaluable. As you, I didn’t need my HTC X1 but I love it. X1 size means I can see the keyboard.

    • It was the size that swung it for me – big enough to be useful, not so big it’s clunky. Just before I came home I placed a food order with Tesco (the Android app is amazing), which impressed the OT no end. And I thought, this is the sort of thing you should know about, and teach your clients – it’s not rocket science and it ensures no-one goes home without food or drink following them – not everyone has a family to stock up for them.

  2. had to smile at this one. when i was in hospital i was actually quite happy to leave my home worries at home. my daughter saw to any financial stuff for me admitted but not a lot needed doing anyway, i only ever have had basic phones.if they were internet enabled i never used that (now i have the feature disabled at point of buying anyway.) all i needed my mobile for was to get any phone numbers i needed from my contact list. there was a hospital phone just a few yards outside the ward so i used that to call friends when i was bored or initially to let them know i was in hosp. though my daughter phoned most from my home phone for me. OK you,Ron ,were in hosp 6 weeks??? not 6 days. so a lot different plus from what i gather you have no one to help you as i did. so do understand your need for what you have. i really dont know what would happen if i was in your situation, or rather your recent one as im not good with phone technology at all. i guess i would just have to forget about it until i got home then hope my brain aint hospital fogged too much so i could sort it out when i did get home.
    whatever did we do though before the advent of these phantasmagorical mobile phones?

    • Admittedly, I’m something of a geek – I love computers in all their forms, except the iPad, which sucks! Apple simply have no grasp of multitasking.

      Thing is, though, if my broadband router dies, I can connect my PC or laptop via my phone to my mobile broadband service. And if my Galaxy dies, I have a backup phone. I have a battery pack that will keep the Galaxy charged for a week of intense use. It would take a disaster of epic proportions to keep me offline.

      Smartphones are really not hard to use, and amply repay the minimal effort it takes to learn. Hell, little kids can use them. The thing is not to be frightened of them – they can’t do anything you don’t tell them to do – they’re not going to run off and spend all your money.

      It’s time to bite the bullet!

      • Ron i have even lost confidence with my PC these days. its an age thing i think. simply cannot get my head around things the same these days.sounds stupid i know to someone like you.i was fine till i went in hosp last time. since coming out Ive lost confidence in a few things i was fine with before going in. and simply haven’t managed to overcome them yet. this foggy brain thing is not helping at all. possibly due to spondylosis in my neck. something pressing on a nerve maybe. they refuse to xray it though to find out saying what good would it do cos they cant do anything about it. but mobile phones/tvs are really the worst for me. black techno spots they are for me.

        • Being in hospital, I’m quite sure, causes a deterioration in cognitive function (or, in layman’s terms, turns your brain to mush!). There were days when, I swear, I could feel my intellect leaking away. Some mornings I’d pick up my Galaxy and sit in bed looking at it, with no idea how the hell to get online!

          Same when I got home – turned on my PC, looked at it, thought Huh? And walked away.

          It all came back though, given time. Pick at it – baby steps – learn one thing a day – or a week, whatever works. And make notes if needed.

          • been proved i was told that mobile phones do not interfere with machinery in hospital. contrary to what was originally believed. so your hosp is definitely behind the times TTD.

            Ron, i can do most things that i could do before. took over 5 years since coming out of hosp. but installing stuff i really balk at. only the other day i needed to update my Malwarebytes. free edition prog. what did i do? installed a free trial. just about to come to an end. im putting off trying again until my daughter comes on Wednesday.it finishes that day. she can supervise me while i do it. similarly i bought 2 PC games. theme park inc…took me 2 weeks to summon up the courage to install it. i still have the 500 solitaire games one to put on a further 2 weeks down the road. keep looking at it and thinking ,i WILL do that, then find something else to do instead. its like a black spot which occasionally moves away long enough to give me a window of a short time that enables me to do these things.its weird. i never used to balk before.

          • oh yes and thanks ..its nice to know its not just me the brain mush happens to. what DO they do in those places? is it something comes through in the air conditioning or central heating or something ?lolol… stops you thinking and let em get on with things cos you couldnt care less …your brain wont let you think otherwise.

  3. My phone fits in my small hand bag or coat pocket but any bigger it would be a problem. As for your OT’s comments, with both my son and I being disabled ‘helpful’ folk like OT’s and Social Work were concerned with how I managed with the grocery shopping. When I told them it’s all done online they seemed surprised. Just because we have health problems does not mean we can’t use I.T to our advantage.

  4. The only place our hospital allows mobile/smart phones to be used, is in the corridors and foyer. All phones have to be switched off in the wards!

Comments are closed.