Online advertising plague . . .

Oops! Mea culpa – PC infected with adware – never even occurred to me! Sorted now.

Bugger! No it’s not, but it is reduced.

What the hell has happened to the Interweb thingy?

I go offline for 6 weeks (hospitalised), and when I come out the entire online world is plastered with random advertising links, every one generating a pop-up ad of massive irrelevance to the host page, and infesting every block of text, everywhere, including my own blog. WTF is going on?

Is this legit? If so, who gave permission for such a wholesale piracy of our work? I write to inform others, not to provide a free platform for fucking advertisers. And if it’s not legit (and even if it is), how the bloody hell do I stop it?

NB: Firefox v21.0, set to disallow popups which – along with Adblock Plus –  has no effect at all. Well, almost. Setting up a filter in Adblock Plus will kill the popup frame, but the text still overlays the page text, rendering both illegible. I cannot envision any way in which this shit is legal!

Whom do I have to kill to stop this invasion of my online privacy?

6 thoughts on “Online advertising plague . . .

  1. I would love someone to explain why Twitter Longer is being used a lot of the time which carries ads both above and below the tweet,i always thought that a tweet allowed you to use 140 characters before you cont. Also why do some Bloggers only write a few lines and then you have to go to another page if you wish to read the post.

    • Second point first – because if we display the post in its entirety, there is absolutely no way to know who, if anyone, has read it. By just displaying the first few lines – or first few paras, depending on length – the reader then clicks though to read the rest – hardly an onerous task – thus triggering the view counter and recording the fact that it’s been read. And, personally, I always try to choose a cut-off point for the extract that pretty much encourages you to click through – these things aren’t just thrown together, you know. 😉

      The other reason for that is just how large, unwieldy, and memory-hogging the blog home page would become if every post was published at full length – you have to bear in mind that not everyone has cutting-edge computers or extra-fast broadband – there are a lot of people with older machines running slow connections still out there, so anyone publishing a blog has to cater for them rather than the high-speed geeks – not least because there are probably more of them.

      As for your first question, I’m not familiar with Twitter Longer. I use TwitLonger, which doesn’t carry advertising. As for why a lot of us do this, it’s simple. There are two ways of getting a long message across – multiple short tweets, which can get lost on a busy, fast-moving Twitterfeed, or use an app like TwitLonger. Twitter has moved on way beyond the point at which 140 characters can be considered adequate (though Twitter’s owners don’t agree – they killed off TwitLonger access when they bought the app Tweetdeck). Certainly, my timeline has become highly politicised, which tends to generate longer tweets. If the choice is multiple tweets that one has to hunt for through one’s timeline and often fail, or long tweets accessed by just one mouse click, I’ll go with the latter every time.

      Hope that helps.

      Ron.

      • Thank you for your time in replying to me it is all starting to make sense now. My mistake in saying Twitter Longer I did in fact mean TwitLonger, I only follow a few posts but the last few days they have been carrying adverts above and below the post.

        • Very odd – this is the TwitLonger page, with one of my tweets from this evening. As you can see, no ads. http://www.twitlonger.com/show/m0chcj

          Mind you, I am running Adblock Plus on Firefox – maybe that’s why? If you have problems with ads – and I tend to forget just how many there are if they’re not shut down – I recommend using Firefox with the Adblock Plus plugin (sorry, don’t know what, if anything, is available if you use IE, but I do know that on IE my blog is littered with advertising).

          • Will not take up any more of your time thank you it must be my computer I did what you said and still the adverts as ime new to computing I will have to do a little research. Once again thank you.

            • No problem – time is one thing I have plenty of. Your PC might be infected with ad-ware, illicit programmes that generate advertising. Go here http://lavasoft.com/free_download/trial/ and download and install the free version of Ad-Aware. Very easy to use, run a full scan – takes a while, depending how much data is on your computer – then follow the advice on how to dispose of what it finds. After that, Ad-Aware will run in the background, monitoring your PC in real time.

              If that doesn’t work, let me know, there are alternatives, but Ad-Aware is by far the easiest to use.

Comments are closed.