A Fruit Cake Recipe . . .

Ron’s Fruit Cake

Fruit cake June 16 2013

I cobbled this up on the spur of the moment and, if I do say so myself – and I have excellent taste 😉 – it’s amazingly good.

Ingredients

225g white bread flour (or plain flour)

1 level tablespoon baking powder

110g butter

160g golden caster sugar  (I like a sweet cake, use 110g if you don’t)

275g mixed fruit, cherries optional

1 egg

50g milk powder**

Cold water sufficient to give a soft dropping consistency

**If you have no milk powder, use milk instead of water to mix. The powder gives a better flavour though. I use Tesco Value Dried Skimmed Milk Powder, but all supermarkets have a similar product.

Weigh the butter into the bowl of a stand mixer (use the flat beater when mixing), and leave to soften. When soft, add the egg and sugar and beat until smooth and creamy.

In another bowl weigh out the dry ingredients and add to the mixer bowl, add 75ml cold water and mix thoroughly. This should result in a stiffish mix(flour can vary a lot), so with the mixer running, slowly dribble in more water until the desired consistency is achieved – around 90-100ml.

Scrape into a lined 2lb loaf tin (these vary wildly in size, but Sainsbury’s have one that’s about right), level off with a spatula and coat the top thickly with Demerara sugar then, with the back of a tablespoon, gently work the sugar into the top of the mix, where the moisture and heat will combine to form a sweet, crisp, crust.

Bake in a preheated oven (180C, or 160C for a fan oven), lowest shelf, for an hour, or a little more (ovens, too, vary). Test with a skewer, or the blade of a small knife, after an hour, if it comes out clean, it’s ready. Mine took exactly an hour.

Remove, still in the tin, to a cooling rack, After an hour, remove from the tin – it’ll still be hot so pick it up by the paper liner – and set it back on the rack. Fold back the paper and leave to cool.

Gorgeous warm, just as good cold.

Notes:

You can mix this by hand if you don’t have  mixer.

It really is worth getting bread flour (Doves Farm is good), and milk powder.

Next time, I’ll increase the fruit by 50%. This is just personal taste, I like a lot of fruit – the recipe is excellent as it is, witness the fact that I’ve already eaten it all.

I used bread flour without even thinking about it, because it’s what I always have on the worktop, and whenever I need flour, that’s what gets used. I’m still surprised that the cake is so amazingly light and delicate. Still, some of the best recipes happened by accident, and this one is seriously good.

Cherries are optional because I forgot mine!

Finally, I originally listed mixed spice as an option, but removed it as it really wouldn’t improve it.

9 thoughts on “A Fruit Cake Recipe . . .

  1. Ooohhh Lovely – thanks Ron saves me asking for the recipe, This is my weekend cake on Sunday without a doubt

    Salavating already xxxx

  2. That looks really yummy – I think I’ll give it a try 🙂 I like a good cake, and hubby loves cake insomuch that he would let me have a slice and he’d eat the rest!
    I must add bread flour and milk powder to my shopping list.
    Do you think that the bread flour would also be an option for the cook in a pan cake Ron?

    • I use bread flour for pretty much everything, but I don’t make pancakes. Can’t see why it wouldn’t work, though, with a little baking powder, say a teaspoon, to lighten it, just to make sure. Under most circumstances, as long as you don’t knead it, bread flour behaves much like any other. As a bonus, it’s higher in protein than normal flour.

      Good for thickening soups and stews, too, as it mixes in very easily. I use a small sieve to sprinkle it on the surface, then quickly stir it in. Repeat until the desired thickness is reached. It might need a little practice but, normally, it doesn’t go lumpy.

      Alternatively, put some of the liquid from the soup or stew into a small, screw-cap jar, let it cool, put in a couple of tablespoons of flour, cap it and give it a good shake. Stir into the bulk of the dish and bring to the boil, stirring so it doesn’t stick.

Comments are closed.