A leg support for use in Lymphoedema.

You need:-

A wooden base, longer than it is wide, with  a  leg at each corner (multiple locations for length adjustability would be essential).

2 lightly-cushioned slings (neoprene, perhaps – think broad camera straps –  with a slightly stretchy fabric backing. (Note: Would have to be washable to deal with any leakage that gets on to them.)

This would support the lower leg at the heel/ankle and back of the knee, without putting any pressure at all on the fluid-damaged calf muscles.

This is the only way I, and doubtless many others, could elevate the affected leg(s) without inflicting more excruciating  pain on ourselves, or over-stressing the knee joint.

Such a device is not rocket science (it took me 2 minutes to come up with this while arguing with the nurse about the impossibility of elevating my leg), nevertheless, it appears not to exist. Why?

NB: it can also be made from metal tubing, which would be lighter and more suitable for commercial production.

I offer the idea free to anyone who wishes to make it a reality. I, unfortunately, cannot.

6 thoughts on “A leg support for use in Lymphoedema.

  1. Farrow Wrap – completely adjustable to the limb as it has a series of velcro straps to help apply pressure to the limb. You wear a thick, almost towelling, stocking underneath which also helps with even pressure. There’s also Compression Pumps available (like this http://www.devonmedicalproducts.com/therapeutic-devices/lymphedema-pumps/). I did a clinical trial for one which still, over a year later, has had beneficial effects despite the fact that I didn’t get to keep it after the required 6 month treatment! You really don’t have to resort to DIY. You must apply pressure to the limb in order to move the lymph & stop lymphorrhea.

    • Thing is they can’t do anything with my right leg until they deal with the pain, which is off the scale. Elevation seems to be the only answer, but I can’t because any pressure on my calf is excruciating. Bed rest is effective, as the mattress eliminates pressure points and spreads the load. As I explained yesterday, that’s not feasible for a variety of reasons.

      This gizmo eliminates all my problems with elevation by having only two points of contact, which aren’t painful as the weight is taken mainly by bones, not by fluid-filled tissue.

      Not DIY, btw – I’m hoping someone will pick up the idea commercially – I can’t be the only one with this problem.

      Actually, looking at what I’ve got here, and using heavy-duty camera straps, I could make one.

  2. Have a Go Ron, if nothing else you might get some respite. My daughter makes me ‘bracelets, on elastic that attach to my sticks as I drop everything! This has been an immense help; I wish so wish their was a company willing to make up these ‘solutions as I’m sure we’re not the only ones in our positions?

    • Last year I sent a design, to a company claiming to be at the cutting edge of disability equipment, for a cupholder that would fit any wheelchair vertically, no matter what the angle or size of the frame tubes, without having to be fitted on the side, where it’d get ripped off in doorways. And – a personal gripe – it would have an adapter so it would hold a pint glass of beer!

      Heard nothing.

      My problem is that I can visualise these thing, even make them if I had a workshop, but I can’t draw them. Very hard to get someone else to draw something that exists only in your head!

Comments are closed.