Gabapentin caution…

I recently had what I tagged as a blackout – lumps and bruises and a dislocated finger, which I reduced quickly, from hitting the floor. And last night I had another with almost identical results, except for a different hand and finger and the fact that, this time, I didn’t lose consciousness entirely, so was more aware of what was happening – like almost hitting the concrete face first again.

My conclusion – he said rather pompously – is that the  cause of these black/greyouts is Gabapentin (or the Gaba/Zomorph combo that I take at 22.00 every night), if I get sufficiently over-tired, as I did on both occasions, it eventually just switches me off. And if, like me, you have ME, then overtired is pretty much a default state, which gets worse the later it gets (and before someone says “Well, everyone gets overtired at times,” with ME it can be an almost permanent condition and rest/sleep often doesn’t fix it).

So if this is a drug – or combo – that is as new to you as it is to me, and you’re prone to pushing through overtiredness to complete whatever it is you’re doing, my advice is to pack it away for the next day and go to bed – which is what I’ll sure as hell be doing from now on, before I wind up in hospital, or worse.

7 thoughts on “Gabapentin caution…

  1. I’ve not had blackouts using Gabba in the past 10yrs that I have been taking it, or with the combo of Gabba & Tramadol – highest dosage rates since 2004…hope that helps in the discussion…

  2. Gabapentin has never had that effect on me, thankfully, but then we all react differently to medication, or maybe it is the Zomorph combo.

    • Gaba on its own, in the afternoon, has a very similar though less extreme effect, which is known, so it’s probably the fact that I’m over-tired at night that tips the balance – and me! Though given the chemical soup sloshing around inside me – 52 tabs and caps a day – the cause could be any damn thing at all.

      It’s got to stop, though, before I’m really injured.

  3. I am taking Tramadol and other mild pain killers that I cannot remember the name of at the moment for pain of CFS & they knock me out completely at night and if my daughter hadn’t stopped me I would have went head first down the stairs. I apparently get up through the night for the toilet which is right next to bedroom and for some reason I was heading towards the stairs. She spoke to me to me about it next day and I in all honesty don’t remember doing this. So I to have to knock things on the head long before I get to the wiped out stage and suffer the consequences of being completely washed out for the next 3 or 4 days. I haven’t reached the stage that you are at re amount of medication you take. All I really want is to wake up in the morning and feel that I have had a good night of rested sleep and can be normal like other people again and stop the rest/ sleep pattern that doesn’t work anyway.
    I was thinking the other day that if I go to bed any earlier at night I should be read a bedtime story along with my Granddaughter LOL

    • Since I got my clockwork bed I sleep really well, with no perceptible lag between falling asleep and waking up – a blink of an eye and it’s morning. Wish I’d known about them years ago.

Comments are closed.