Refurbishing the Kitchen – Update…

The Dualit XL1500 Food Processor.

***

Those of you who read the original post will know that I bought a Dualit XL1500 food processor. Well, finally, I’ve got round to using it. It would have been sooner, but the last couple of weeks have been pretty fraught. The reasons for that have been well covered, so I won’t bore you by going over them again.

The food processor was intended to make prep much easier and, it does that in spades. Veg still has to be peeled, of course, but slicing and chopping enough to fill my 3-litre stainless steel casserole would normally take about 40 pain-filled minutes, punctuated by rest breaks. Using the machine all the peeled veg is prepped in a matter of seconds. And I do mean seconds, not minutes.

When I unpacked the machine and found it a home in the kitchen, I eventually got around to reading the manual (it’s a guy thing – it was lucky to get read at all!), and was dismayed – to put it mildly – to read that I must not run the processor for more than 45 seconds at a time! Of course, in reality, anything you put in it would be reduced to a fine mist in 45 seconds, but I didn’t know that then, and it came close to being sent back. Had I not been too ill to bother, it would have been.

So today I chopped two large Echalion shallots, three medium-sized, strong cooking onions for the base of a mild curry. A little too fine, as it turned out, but they got the job done, then I sliced 3 large courgettes and a handful of Sweet Spear carrots, all in less time that it took to type this paragraph.

The blades are very sharp, which is always good, and the machine is blindingly fast – so fast that if you get your fingers in it they’ll be gone before the pain hits, so you really need to keep kids and the terminally dumb away from it – something the manual goes to great lengths to impress upon you, and rightly so.

I had a food processor in the 70s, and wasn’t overly impressed with it, especially the time the buggerdly thing took to clean – more time than it actually saved me, in fact, and it was rapidly relegated among the mice and spiders.

This one, however, is amazing, not least because all aspects of the technology have improved over the years. Plastic is now polycarbonate, with a finish so smooth water simply beads up and runs off, so it’s no hardship simply to rinse the tools and bowls under the tap as you finish with them, to ensure no food dries and sticks, and when you’ve finished, a very quick, hot, soapy wash takes just a couple of minutes, count your fingers, and you’re done.

It’s quiet, too, as claimed, by which I mean the motor doesn’t wail like a banshee as these things usually do, not that it’s silent.

There are a number of bizarre instructions – too many to list, in fact – which if followed to the letter will mean you never get to use your new gadget. Easy to spot, feel free not to take too much notice.

Finally, I’m impressed with the speed both of its operation and with which it can be cleaned, and not only did it save me a lot of time, but a lot of otherwise inevitable pain,** too – I think I’m in love 😉

**I’m in excruciating pain as it is – I dread to think how much worse it could have been.

Is it worth its full price of £259? (I paid £251 from Nisbets, otherwise it’s not normally discounted, as far as I can see.) If you’re fit and healthy, probably not. On the other hand, if like me you’re permanently exhausted, in a hell of a lot of pain, and love cooking but for those reasons want it to be over as quickly as possible, then probably yes. On the basis of this one trial it’s going to be getting a hell of a lot of use, and the mice and spiders can go buy their own.

4 thoughts on “Refurbishing the Kitchen – Update…

  1. Chin up r kid.
    Sounds bril. My Kenwood, courtesy of Tiger Tokens, is still doing ” onward Christian soldiers”, in my restricted life. Soups usually need liquidizing after the processor. Washing waits for a good day. Frozen veg is now the norm. Asda, Iceland, Tesco and Lidl provide the means to present adequate veg variety, when sore hands prevent “normal” prep work. Humberside Pilotage enabled my eyes to be opened to the speed of “Field to Freeze”.
    Good luck with your appointment.
    Your words inspire.

Comments are closed.