Vascular Clinic Appointment…

Right then, as those of you on Twitter will know, today was my vascular clinic appointment. I am, for reasons of self-defence, going to be rather circumspect in my report (basically, I can’t afford to piss off any more doctors, no matter how justified, and in this case it isn’t).

Actually, the doc seems to be one of the good guys, on first acquaintance, and he quickly figured out that I seem to have a body-wide infection which triggered a feeling of déjà vu as I’d figured this out six months ago while being admitted to APH. The admitting doc agreed, and guess what was done about it – bugger all!

This time, though, something is being done, starting with a referral to dermatology, as well as an ultrasound scan of my vascular system to make sure that, apart from the parts already buggered, it’s all in working order. Or not, of course. The scan’s on the 23rd.

Then I have to wait til November 25th for an appointment to get the scan results! I have no idea when my dermatology appointment is yet – I may yet need another appointment for those results which brings us to an insurmountable problem – the vascular clinic attracts a lot of very sick people and sick people, as many of us know only too well, are not good at getting up early. So the only appointments available are for 09.00 or 09.30 through to next year, apparently.

I explained, as I always do, that getting to an early appointment is well-nigh impossible, but if they wanted to they could put me down for 09.30 as long as they accepted that I might not actually be there until 10.00 or later. And there it rests for now.

In addition to the above, both legs are now in compression, and this is where it all turns to shit, as the bandages on the right leg have already come undone twice since I got home, and they’re supposed to be good for a couple of weeks. Not impressed!

13 thoughts on “Vascular Clinic Appointment…

    • Well, it’s long overdue, Tricia, and even though I tried to maintain my dumb as a stump persona I’m pretty sure he’d been told different, as he insisted on drawing me in to see what I thought.

  1. Oh dear! So you are being taken notice of, but having to wait for weeks until things start getting done – hmmmmmm!
    I hope that the dermatology appointment comes through quickly – I’ll bet that the dermatologists are going to be a bit taken aback at your legs but will hopefully pull you through. From what I have heard, they know their stuff and pooh pooh the work done by district nurses and the likes. But then again, they are the experts so know exactly what should have been done from the beginning.
    The scan in next week then, that’s damned quick really so maybe the results of it will make them get you an earlier appointment. Having said that, it’s 6 weeks today ’til your scan which, as you know, will fly past as this blasted year already has done!
    As for the compression bandages, are the nurses still coming to do them on a daily basis as the infection and smell under them after a couple of days will be disgusting and of no use to your legs. Just having compression bandages on for a day is enough for the type of infection you have to obliterate the skin, so how the hell someone can say that they are good for a couple of weeks is not doing their job, or not thinking properly! If your legs are still leaking on a daily basis, then the weight of the bandages will affect what little mobility you have, and will leave you in more pain than the pain you are in now. So if the nurses are still coming and don’t agree with keeping the bandages on, then go with that as you know only too well what the infection is doing to you.
    I totally agree with you about early appointments as well, they are an absolute killer for those who are ill and disabled and I dread having to go to any appointment anywhere at those times.
    Here’s hoping that you will get more help from the vascular team and also from the dermatology department – everything is crossed for you.
    Jay x

    • Don’t worry, Jay – if the bandages become a liability, they’re coming off, and sod any hurt nurse feelings. And they’ll be coming off next week for the scan anyway, and also for dermatology, whenever that is. And, if they leak through, they have to come off anyway, as it provides a path for reinfection. So, really, the chance of them being on for weeks is zero.

      To my surprise, I could probably have been there for 09.30 this morning (but I crashed as soon as I got back and slept until now, so clearly not good for me). After the next appointment, though, I’m going to insist that they accommodate me – I’ll be going there for a long time, but absolutely NOT at some absurdly early hour! The clinic opens at 08.30, but they never have any patients until around 10 – surely that must suggest to someone that the schedule needs revising – putting back a few hours?

      Oh, and I went there intent on playing the passive, ill-informed patient – Mr. Average – but the doc had other ideas and insisted on pulling me in. Makes me wonder what my GP put in the referral – bolshie little sod but he does know what he’s talking about, possibly!

      Got to stop typing now, it’s the first time I’ve used my manual chair in months and my arms are killing me!

      Ron.

        • It didn’t last, partly because the doc wanted to involve me but mainly because I quickly got tired of the nurse’s bullshit! God help patients who really are thick and ignorant!

  2. Delighted! At least you have returned home with a forward plan and a glimmer of hope that treatment is in the offing – that is good news indeed. Another aspect of the appointment which brings relief to me, and no less to you of course, is that the consultant listened and assessed the situation pretty well. I was just dreading contact with another medic who did not connect/was incompetent or just downright hostile. As for your next appointments, early mornings for you in future, my lad…you’ll just have to sign off from your entourage a bit earlier!
    Shame about the bandages – hmmm… is compression more, or less, painful for you ?
    All things considered, a silver lining is a very welcome sight right now.
    Blimey – I might even get some sleep tonight myself!

    • It was interesting to note that while he shared the massive infection theory that’s currently so popular among my medics (pity they didn’t listen to me six months ago!), there were no threats that I was about to die horribly. Made a pleasant change.

  3. Ah, the wonders of lymphoedema bandaging. I had mine done to stop leaky legs and was warned it would go everywhere for te first couple of days and need changing until it stopped the leaking. Only then could bandages be left on for a few days. Actually didn’t work for me but I lost litres over my riser chair (bin bags under towels are good) and drenched my hospital bed every night – and as for the weight and the smell….You must get your nurses to see what and how the clinic have treated your legs. They can speak to them directly for advice on how to redress. As you’re aware, lymph fluid is a petri dish for infection as well as being caustic so it needs to be taken away from the skin, not left as a sodden mass that stinks!
    I don’t think any of these doctors has ever tried walking with the eqivallance of wet sandbags tied to their legs.

    • There’s already a sizeable leak – must be, it had broken through by tea-time yesterday, despite the huge amount of paraffin wax** and cotton wool (cotton wool – Jesus wept!), that’s been slapped on my leg.

      **Which will stop the cotton wool from absorbing anything!

      I’ve already partially unwrapped my feet – bloody fool had crushed my toes so tightly I couldn’t walk.

      Hopefully the District Nurses will be here later, because in my view the compression needs to go on top of my normal Etuvit dressing pads, not poxy cotton wool!

Comments are closed.