Lots of buggeration, and some good stuff…

Getting into my clockwork bed last night there was a cascade of beige grit from under the dressing on my right leg. Essentially, it was me – dead skin rubbed to dust under the tubular bandage, and dribbling out with the slightest movement. And I thought, “That’s going to bite me in the arse by morning.” And it did.

I was jolted awake at some godawful early hour, not long after getting to sleep, coughing so uncontrollably I could barely breathe in. I’m used to respiratory crises, they’ve been happening since the age of 2 but frankly, boys and girls, this was terrifying. It went on for hours, with occasional slumps back into a fitful sleep for what felt like seconds at a time, before waking for another choking fit. An allergic reaction to the skin dust.

At 05.00 I gave up any hope of more sleep, and got up, dosed prodigiously with codeine linctus AND Oramorph – don’t tell my GP! – and it finally began to let up, though for a while it was touch and go whether I saw the dawn from A&E or at all.

I should probably be in hospital, as it’s this sort of event that could kill me, putting too much strain on my already buggered heart. But it’s the flu season, and being in hospital might well kill me anyway. As I said in an earlier post, it’s a toss-up – heads I lose, tails I still lose.

So, anyway, I’m much better than I was 8 hours ago. Still not great but I can, at least, breathe. Oddly, though, the deeply offensive infected sputum that’s been a feature of every morning for the past couple of weeks seems to have vanished. It’s still infected, but no longer in worrying shades of greenish-black, streaked with blood. Had it still been so, I’d planned to get my GP out today. Yeah, I know, fat chance.

I’ve tackled the dead skin problem with a gently- applied, unused (for veggies, just kept for this), vegetable brush to remove as much dead skin as possible without drawing blood, then slathered both legs with emollient Hydromol cream as, on inspection, my left leg wasn’t a great deal better than my right.

The thing is, though, it’s the tubular bandage, together with my movement, which is grinding the dead skin to allergenic dust, and I noticed on my left leg, where the bandage had slipped down, it was clear of dead ski. It seems the bandage creates it, too, so that has to stop So, when I change the right leg’s dressing later today, instead of overwrapping the 5x5cm silver-impregnated dressing with a 20x40cm absorbent pad, which is, frankly, overkill, I’m going to cut a small piece of the pad, about 10x10cm, and overwrap it with a couple of turns of crepe bandage.

Yes, it’ll be messy at first, as my trousers rub off the dead skin, but I can’t think of anything better and the nurses would not look kindly upon the idea so I don’t intend to involve them. The huge improvement that has taken place of late is entirely down to my efforts in pretty much forcing them to follow the hospital’s guidelines, as I’ve said. As there’s no leakage from the lesions now it should work just fine. I can’t use adhesive dressings of any sort, as they simply won’t stick to my skin, but I do have plenty of crepe bandages.

Also, because I now have no leaks, I can wear decent – but still as ugly as sin – shoes.

Side view Top view
Click to view full size, Back button to return.

They open right down to the toe, useful as my right foot is still pretty swollen, the left only slightly. But as you can see, the heel/ankle area is quite broad – essential as mine is too swollen to fit a normal shoe. If I were to try, I know from experience that the shoe would cut deeply into the still very fragile skin at heel and ankle, and for that reason both feet will need padding, before getting too adventurous.

These things, sadly, aren’t cheap, £45.83 without VAT, which I don’t pay, but if I can regain even some of my lost mobility, it’ll be worth it, as will the ugliness.

On a different note, the water bottle I take into the bedroom every night recently go contaminated, when crapola from the water supply plastered itself to the inside. I don’t, with hindsight, think it did me any harm, but I might not be so lucky next time. So I’ve ordered a 1.4litre hospital-style polycarbonate jug ,with a lid to keep bits of me (and spiders), out. It’s bigger than I need, but I don’t have to fill it, and the important thing is that it’s going to be much easier to keep clean .

I’ve also ordered, for delivery tomorrow, a Dyson DC59 Animal, the new one.

ScreenShot364 Click to view full – well, you know how it works by now . . .

Again, not cheap £359.95, but comes with two motorised heads, the standard one and a small, more powerful one for “tough jobs,” as well as the usual tools and a set of freebies. And yes, I do know I’m paying full list for this, but everybody else, including Dyson and Amazon, was remarkably vague about what was in the box. John Lewis was not so they got my business. Dyson’s website said all it came with was the small head, for example. Plus the freebies if they happened to have any left.

I opted for this partly because it’s a prime spider-killer, but mainly because conventional machines are a bit beyond me these days. I did use my cylinder machine a couple of weeks ago, quite successfully, but haven’t been able to since, And while the Dyson has a short run time (17 minutes), so do I, so I don’t see a problem, and it’ll be great for sucking spiders off the bedroom ceiling at four in the morning! Which, if they appear at all, is when the buggers show up.

True, Dysons are reputedly noisy, so the spider patrol might wake the guy upstairs, but as he has no worries about flushing his toilet – which is over my bedroom, just as that of the guy next door is just the other side of the wall, and neither are bothered about waking me, then I couldn’t give a toss.

And finally, just before Christmas, I finished my kitchen upgrade with a stainless steel mini oven from Lakeland.

ScreenShot365  This one as well . . .

It gets the job done, and is possibly hotter than they claim, but I’ve got an oven thermometer somewhere, so I can check it out.

All I need now is some crockery, just a few side plates and some pie dishes, and I’m done.

7 thoughts on “Lots of buggeration, and some good stuff…

  1. like the idea for spider killing. have noticed that since my escapade with that flykiller rendering me with irritated bronchial tubes and the ultimate search n buying of a spider catcher ive not seen one spider in my bedroom, nor anywhere else for that matter. weird.
    I have a similar oven to yours above but its a Beko compact. i think the thermostat must not be right though as it doesn’t cook things properly. frozen sausage rolls made me aware of that when i and a friend both landed up with upset bowels and they were the only thing we had both had that were same and from same batch.cooked as told to on pack instructions and they looked just right when i took them out. didnt take long either for the results to shoiw themselves. same afternoon as i had eaten 2 for lunch, i got the side effects of undercooked sausage-meat…. how do i check the thermostat?or get it checked? its going on for 5 years old so didnt think it would need anything doing to it yet specially as i dont use it very often preferring the slow cooker. if i do use it its usually the grill or hotplates (can only usually use one hotplate at a time if using grill or oven anyway.).

    • To check the thermostat you need an oven thermometer. I’ve got this one http://www.nisbets.co.uk/Oven-Thermometer/J205/ProductDetail.raction

      But, I hear you ask, how do I know it’s accurate? Well, I’ve no idea – some things you have to take on trust, But as Nisbets mainly supply the professional market it should be reliable. Mine certainly appears to be.

      But I have to ask – weren’t the sausage rolls cold inside, or barely warm anyway? If so, why eat them instead of putting them back for a few minutes?

      My previous oven, which cost the grand sum of £25 from Amazon, was spot-on accurate – even giant sausage rolls heated perfectly. The new one cost £99 so it had better damn well perform properly!

      I’ve not seen spider-catchers for a long time. I think people have realised that (A) You have to get closer to the spider than is desirable. and (B), once caught you have the problem of what to do with it!

      Spiders are seasonal. They tend to come indoors in the Autumn, as it gets colder. One thing to bear in mind – the really big spiders are female, so in killing one you’re potentially killing thousands of the buggers – always worthwhile!

      Fly spray isn’t good for spiders. In my experience Raid Ant and Cockroach Killer is the best, and it squirts a jet, rather than a spray, so only goes where you want it to. Their all-natural Fly, Wasp and Mosquito Killer is good, too. It paralyses spiders as well as kills them. Ant and Cockroach is the best, though, as the effect lasts for weeks so can be used on surfaces like thresholds and windows with gaps, to kill them as they cross it. Very effective too, and the smell doesn’t linger too much.

      • sorry didnt answer this straight away. been ill with cold and cough. head banging. chest infection ,the lot. steroids n antibiotics plus painkillers are keeping symptoms at bay now though not gone altogether yet.
        re sausage rolls, i took them out of the oven and left them to cool as i had intended eating them cold. so did not think to test the insides. it wasnt till the events unfolded that i suspected the oven wasnt performing right as i rarely use it. new when bought , hardly used except for grill and hotplate sometimes, i never gave a thought to the fact it was getting old just sitting there.
        spider catcher. this one is about 2 feet long so you are far away from the spider when you put the tip near it and switch it on. the vacuum created pulls the spider into the clear tube. there’s a bung you can use if you wish to stop it getting out but if yu hold the tube up with open end at top, go to the door and shake it upside down the spider falls out n toddles off. (if he/she decides they are coming my way again./they don’t get a second chance. hard heel squash is what they get.,they had their eviction notice, it was carried out., they don’t get back in if i have anything to do with it.
        the ant and cockroach stuff sounds like a good idea. but i have a dog and wont use anything i have to lay on windowsills (he sits on the one in the bedroom which is at the front of the bungalow) or anywhere else where he could lick it or get on his fur n subsequently ingest it. hence this humane spider catcher.

        • wont use anything i have to lay on windowsills

          There’s always the outside. Where the opening pane butts up against the frame there’s a channel that’s out of the rain, so it won’t get washed away. That’s often where I spray.

          • Wouldn’t have thought spiders could get in there., i have double glazed windows, that shut very tightly. very flush. but still anythings worth a go.thanks for the info.

  2. Good morning Ron… I am awakening at 3.30 AM these days
    …cant get back to sleep, these days, and so bored with the World Service…the I notice that the aching has not stopped. Thank God for the Internet…I can visit lots of places and check in to see how you are. It sounds as if you are trading one set of problems for another, but at least you are not dripping everywhere. Perhaps you are getting a little better? I do hope so as honestly if anyone deserves a break you do.
    I’ll be back…..

    • My legs are actually pretty good. The rest of me, not so much!

      I find eating is a good cure for insomnia, especially carbs – might be worth a try. Keep some biscuits by the bed – save getting up.

      Mind you, don’t you go to be very early? That won’t help.

Comments are closed.