Emergency Dressing change Due to Pain and Swelling.

Interim dressing change due to  swelling and severe pain.

No discernible problems except the old dressing was stuck insanely hard (took half an hour to soak the bugger off), which was causing the pain, due to nurses refusal to use an impermeable top layer as per the Aquacel Ag literature, so dressing dries out and goes hard, instead of staying moist.

Re-dressed it with my own DIY impermeable top layer,** which is how I started with this routine and how it’s going to continue. Fuck ’em if they don’t like it.

**The inside of a new and unopened plastic food bag is as sterile as you need, from the heat of manufacure. It can also be swabbed with alcohol gel and wiped dry with sterile gauze – you don’t want that suff in an open wound!

I now have a nice wet and, above all, soft, dressing – nice and comfy. I am also full of Oramorph – which helps!

I couldn’t get my Oramorph measure, as I was soaking my leg, so took a sip  from the bottle. Misjudged it and got more of a slurp! Sod it, I deserve it!

And hey, here’s a pic:-

Interim dressing change, Feb 15 2014 Click to view full size, Back button to return.

14 thoughts on “Emergency Dressing change Due to Pain and Swelling.

  1. Has the swelling gone as well Ron?
    Looks to be a wee bit wet and weepy in the picture, is there any smell to it?
    Glad that you had the sense to change the dressing and use your own method, and also glad that you have had a slurp of Oramorph 🙂 You do deserve it!

    • It’d been soaking in a bucket of water for half an hour, and I’d just washed it with Octenisan (antibacterial), so probably still damp from that. Nope – totally odourless. Bloody painful though. Must be honest, I don’t much like the look of it either.

      Thing is, a nurse came on Thursday that I’ve not seen for months – and within hours it had started to swell, and now it looks a bit manky – I think she’s brought me a bloody infection. I watched her like a hawk – can’t see how she did anything wrong, but looking back it started to improve when she stopped coming. Coincidence? Paranoia? Dunno. You can’t see bugs.

      All I know for sure is that for the short time I was doing it all myself, it improved. Sine the nurses are back on a regular schedule, it hasn’t, much.

      They’re bringing an “expert” to have a look at it on Monday. If he mentions compression he’s liable to get tossed out on his arse! The nurses hate what I’m doing but as long as there’s any hope that it’ll heal I’m going to carry on until it’s obvious it’s not going to heal. And while they might look manky, they ARE visibly smaller.

      Compression, as I keep telling the useless buggers, is NOT going to happen, but I’d be willing to give support hose a try. Seems a reasonable compromise

      • The experts who have helped you the most have been the nurses in APH who began the proper treatment that you needed. The district nurses have made things worse! Some people can be carriers of bacteria and no-one, even themselves, know that they are carrying such things.
        I’d ask that she doesn’t come to you anymore and see how things go.
        Here’s hoping it dries out again Ron.
        As for the expert, he/she may be great, and they may learn a thing or two if they listen to your regime and how you’re 100% better than at the start.

        • If it turns out I do have an infection, I’m going to take over the whole thing myself – I’ve regretted not doing that when I had the chance.

          I have little confidence in the expert – they all sing from the same hymn sheet

  2. Good thinking, Batman! How ridiculous that the nurse refused to add an impermeable layer. Do they think we know nothing about our conditions and the way to treat them? Enjoy the Oramorph! (When I first wrote this comment, it didn’t ‘take’ and I assume that was because I included the same swear word as you have in your post!)

    • Nope – just WP being temperamental. A few people have trouble with it. Over the last couple of years it’s deteriorated considerably.

  3. How is it this morning Ron? Still painful and swollen?
    If you do have an infection then it’s best that you take over and they just supply the everything you need!
    God! I’m so angry…

    • The swelling goes down overnight – I’ve got the foot of my clockwork bed elevated, and the whole thing tilted, to give me more height at the foot, which works well. But as soon as I’m up and about off it goes again. Still not sure about an infection. It’s much more painful than it was, but that might be due to the dressings drying out. I’ll change it again later, I think – keep an eye on the buggerdly thing!

    • Afraid not, Tricia. The swelling goes down overnight – I’ve got the foot of my clockwork bed elevated, and the whole thing tilted, to give me more height at the foot, which works well. But as soon as I’m up and about off it goes again. Still not sure about an infection. It’s much more painful than it was, but that might be due to the dressings drying out. I’ll change it again later, I think – keep an eye on the buggerdly thing!

      • Keep an eye on your temperature. I know not all infections result in raised temperature, but it can give you a head start on tackling it, if it’s out of your normal range for the time of day.

        Hope it improves soon, best wishes
        Lucy

  4. Ron…wish you days free of pain…:-)
    Can’t remember if I said this before…but looked at the pic of your “enemy” no not the staff !…. But have you tried honey dressings?..antibacterial and don’t dry as quickly they might be worth a try…I have used them when all else failed…

    • If I could access medical grade honey I might be tempted. Otherwise, it might be dangerous, not least because my immune system is shot to hell.

      Have you considered that whatever’s killing off the bees might be present in their honey (which, let’s face it, is just bee puke)? The risk might be real – or it might not. Since no-one seems absolutely certain whether chemicals or mystery bee bugs are the problem (chemicals are a factor, I’m sure), the last thing I need is a previously unknown pathogen getting into an open wound. It took most of last year to get rid of fairly routine infections, including MRSA, culminating in 10 days of i-v antibiotics in November – I don’t need the risk of contracting something for which there is no treatment, no matter how slight the risk might be.

      Actually, I don’t have a great deal of pain at the moment, but I suspect that if I stopped taking morphine that would change. And it does keep popping up to remind me of what I’m missing!

Comments are closed.