On freezing eggs…

“It`s quite simple to freeze an egg,” says Jamie Oliver, “All you do is find a small airtight container and break the egg into it, before putting it in the freezer.”

What the chubby simpleton doesn’t mention is that, for most of us, egg-sized airtight containers are extremely hard to come by.

I’ve also read that one should beat the eggs with a small pinch of salt before freezing. I’m not convinced either method makes a difference. I would, though, keep them for just a few weeks, not months.

In the past I’ve frozen eggs in a twist of clingfilm. It works, but is hardly an elegant solution, and clingfilm becomes brittle and easily damaged when frozen.

I’ve been kicking this problem around in my head for some years now, as I like to have eggs available for baking but, while I like to eat eggs, I very rarely do. I don’t really know why, but it results in a lot of wasted eggs. Yesterday, though, I came up with an idea.

Tesco sell plastic bags just the right size for two eggs. They’re labelled “100 Small Resealable Snack Bags – Portion Control Size”. To make it work you also need a few medium-sized Klippits – plastic bag sealing clips, from Lakeland, among others. The one I used is actually from Sainsbury’s. It doesn’t matter as long as it’s the right size to make an airtight seal across the middle of the bag (pinch the bag’s sealing strip closed at that point first), as in the pic, below.

Freezing eggs  As always, click the pic to view full size, Back button to return.

Crack an egg into a small glass, open one half of the bag, tip in the egg. Seal the closure. Repeat in the other half, then freeze quickly.

And that’s it. Use as many bags and clips s you have eggs, and you’re done.

NB: Freeze quickly and stand upright against the side or front of the freezer drawers, as otherwise there’ll be some slight leakage.

