Leg report – not 100% happy.

Feeling pretty crap today.  Can’t sleep and way too much pain round the clock.

Since the turn of the year I’ve had no trouble getting to sleep – staying asleep is a whole different ball game. I’ve not slept for more than an hour at a stretch, and often only half an hour. Add in the almsot constant pain,and I’m in grave danger of becoming unravelled

New nurse on Wednesday (think I might have seen her once before), said she was going to tell GP he had to increase my morphine, both Zomorph (the MR capsule), and Oramorph). Bet the bastard won’t though.

Pain, though, is getting worse pretty much by the day, so something needs to be done, and soon. It’s not as bad as last year, not yet, anyway, but it’s heading in that direction and there’s just no way I’m going through that again. That was more than enough pain for one lifetime.

And I need rules for the nurses – some are starting to get sloppy and the last thing I need is another infection. So, new rules – only a couple so far– but anyone who won’t comply will be told to leave.

Today, the staff nurse was peering closely at my lesions –just an inch or two away from my leg, and talking at the same time, and I clearly felt saliva spray on my leg. That’s not acceptable so in future no-one who wants to get close to my leg does so without a mask, and gloves, too – there’s always a risk of being touched accidentally, so no-one touches me, or touches anything that’s going to touch me, without gloves.

And anyone who doesn’t like it can sod off!

This is today’s photo.

Extreme close up of merging lesions Feb 20 As always, click thumbnail to view full size, Back button to return.

It’s an extreme close up to show exactly what’s happening. The small rectangular lesion on the left has grown, and merged with the larger one in the middle, which has also grown, while the dividing line between the two larger lesions is perceptibly thinner.

I thought that this was a deterioration, but looking at Wednesday’s photo (which I’m not sure you want to see, it’s a bit gross), this one is very much cleaner so it’s possible that the apparent enlargement is due to the removal of necrotic tissue which is what this new system was intended to do.

It’ll bear watching, though, but I don’t think it’s as dire as I first thought (and I tend to trust my perception above what others tell me these days – I have no axe to grind!

They’re coming again on Monday, but I think I’ll check progress on Saturday night. If it’s any worse, I’m reverting to doing it my way. Still the same, and I’ll leave it.

One last thing. The nurse was about to descend on my leg with a gauze swab and a normal saline spray. I asked what she thought she was going to do – scrub the lesions, she said!

Er, no! I’d already scrubbed them with Octenisan (antibacterial), and scrubbed that off with warm water – that was all the scrubbing I had any intention of tolerating for one day!

8 thoughts on “Leg report – not 100% happy.

  1. I have to say that in this post you “sound” a bit grumpy – it must be down to the pain and the lack of sleep catching up with you 😦
    Here’s hoping that this picture of your leg is the sign of things getting a bit better and “knitting” together.
    Hoping you get the pain under control and that that stupid doctor of yours does increase the doses! It’s about time someone had stiff words with him!!

    • A bit grumpy, Jay? Is that really so surprising?

      Idiot GP has increased Zomorph to 70mg from 60. I also asked him to increase the Oramorph, which I know the nurse asked him but he wasn’t going to admit it. Not putting money on it but I’m already taking 10ml – what he doesn’t know he can’t worry about.

  2. No Ron, it’s certainly not surprising 😦 I know the feeling all too well and I know how the pain can wear you out both physically and mentally 😦
    I hope that dope of a GP has increased the Oramorph as well as the Zomorph – the pain needs to be got under control, that is vital.
    We all know that the pain and the tiredness can make healing slow down and that’s the last thing you want!

Comments are closed.