A tweak to my profiling bed…

Check out this post first.

My profiling bed has proven invaluable in the past for getting a good night’s sleep (not so much now, but I’m hoping that will pass), and also for enabling me to sleep – or at least rest these days – without pain. And to elevate my legs to encourage the fluid to drain.

One thing it hasn’t changed is my aversion to the dark. Without light I become extremely disorientated, a problem that first made its presence felt about 4 years ago and is showing no signs of going away. So I have a nightlight, an 8W mini fluorescent bulb in a table lamp on a chest of drawers behind the head of the bed and to one side.

This is fine for everything except reading books in bed, as it casts a shadow. OK, I have my illuminated Kindle Paperwhite, or my Fire HD if I want to read in colour, but sometimes it just has to be paper, and that’s difficult. Not impossible, but at an uncomfortable angle

Then, mooching around Amazon looking for a solution, I found this.

ScreenShot081

Cost me £3.49, clips to the bed frame and lightens my darkness. It’s now £4.70, but have a good rummage on Amazon, it’s on offer at a variety of prices, starting under £3.

Bedlight  Click image to view full size, Back button to return.

It’s actually attached to the base of the bed, the bed-head is against the wall – I have to sleep sitting up – can’t breathe lying down, something I have major problems making staff understand in hospital, though it’s very common in heart failure and not unknown in COPD. And that’s a major reason for my wanting to stay out of the place – last year they ran out of profiling beds and turfed one guy out of his, giving him an elderly manually-adjusted bed. As he had pneumonia, and major breathing problems, he wasn’t best pleased – they still took his bed. I can’t risk that.

The clamp is just barely big enough so, as you can see, I’ve added a strip of duct tape as extra security, so it doesn’t pop off in the night and plunge me into darkness.

I’ve also made another addition, to reduce the clutter on my bedside table which, overnight, as well as a jug of water and a mug (apart from being for my morning meds, I seem to get very thirsty overnight while I can’t sleep), plus a load of meds, also holds my Kindle, Samsung Galaxy S3, and Galaxy Tab 3 – and too often one of those three winds up on the floor. So far they’ve survived, but they won’t always, so, with a couple of cable ties I’ve attached a spare leather manbag (I have a bunch of them from small leather ones to large Cordura – can’t stand having pockets full of crap and meds**), to the bed frame to hold the Tab 3 within easy reach.

**On the rare occasions I get to go out I have to take my inhalers, enough of all my meds for several days (when I was young, this was in case I got lucky, now it’s in case I get unlucky, and wind up in hospital, so I need supporting paperwork as well!), my Addison’s emergency kit, plus my Oramorph and codeine linctus (the latter being impossible to get in hospital and it’s the only effective cough suppressant).

My original bag, from about 1975, is leather and smaller than a paperback. The most recent one is Cordura, and big enough to take all my stuff and a 10-inch tablet plus  assorted electronics and chargers. Oh, the joys of Spoonie life!

2 thoughts on “A tweak to my profiling bed…

  1. I sympathise Ron. the more we get wrong with us, the more stuff we seem to land up having rto take with us when we do go out.we women are better equipped to carry all our needs and other stuff with us.because we have handbags./shoulder bags. in my case add on a small first aid kit because of the number of occasions ive torn my skin on something. (once was when a woman trapped my finger between her trolly n mine in a store. had to ask shop assistant for a plaster cos it wouldnt stop bleeding.)..and other things..but there comes a time,as with me now,when the handbag (in my case a shoulder bag to keep one hand free for walking stick ,other for doing anything else from paying for goods to carrying them if lightweight enough.)i am finding is too heavy for my shoulders and neck.ive bought a load of different ones trying to find one that is still lightweight when my things are put in it, than the previous one was. nothing light enough. so on top of not being able to walk too far now i have this hampering my progress too. just hoping i pass my assessment at the wheelchair centre on thursday now. because having a wheelchair will help in so many ways.,i can push it myself to start with on an outing. (cannot do that with either scooter or motorised chair and i do not want to give up walking altogether.yet,)….this in turn will help me to walk a bit further. bags/shopping can go into it until i have had enough. then i sit in it, bags on my knees and grandaughter pushes me… son and his daughters idea i might add..and we can go further plus i can enjoy the outing more instead of having to concentrate on every step, every breath and all the pain my painkillers are not taking away. a self propelled one is not an option, mores the pity., my spondylosis precludes me from even contemplating that option.
    so wish me luck on that please.

    • Seriously, if you get the chance, go for a powerchair – you won’t regret it and there’s no need to give up walking. The downside of people pushing you is that, no matter how willing they are, sooner or later, they’ll get fed up (it’s not easy being the pusher). In my time I’ve been both pusher and pushee – neither is fun, long-term.

      And, of course, with a powerchair, you’ll have complete independence.

      But if you do get an ordinary chair, get a self-propelled one – they are much easier to push, and get up and down kerbs, than those with 4 smallish wheels. And pushing yourself is very much easier than walking. I can use my manual chair even though I can barely walk at all.

Comments are closed.