Pulmonary Oedema…

After being diagnosed with Pulmonary Oedema in hospital, I’ve been doing some research.

I rather wish I hadn’t but as I firmly believe that knowledge is preferable to ignorance I had no choice. This is Pulmonary Oedema. The Mayo Clinic – which is where that link will take you – is one of the more reliable sources of medical information on the Web.

Two things I’ve learned. One, I’m screwed. Two, the doctor – the unhinged fuckwit – who reduced my diuretic dose by 50% must surely be trying to kill me – nobody can be that fucking stupid. In Pulmonary Oedema an increase in the diuretic dose – usually Furosemide, which is what I take – is indicated, not a reduction.

I have, therefore, increased the original dose by 50% in an attempt to prevent my lungs filling with fluid again.

I have also increased all my inhalers, which had been reduced by the same numbnuts quack.

I don’t know who it is, but I sure as hell intend to find out. Reducing my medication when my condition is deteriorating so dramatically (and potentially fatally), is beyond incompetent – it smacks of malice.

In the meantime, I shall be writing to my GP about the clown, and making sure he doesn’t actually cut back my Furosemide. Not least because, although I’ve expressed a desire to escape this dismal existence, I have no desire at all to be taken off by Pulmonary Oedema – it’s a dreadful way to die. I know, I almost did.

