More lifestyle changes…

One brought about because some things are getting beyond me, the other which should enhance my life.

The first is a kitchen trolley.

Not for use in the kitchen, but for two tasks that routinely reduce me to a gasping, wheezing, wreck. One is moving the bucket of warm water I use for disinfecting my leg ulcer at every dressing change, from the kitchen to the living room, and thence, when finished, to the bathroom for disposal, and the other is moving my grocery delivery from the door to the living room. In both cases we’re talking about single-figure yards, and in both cases they wipe me out.

The trolley will solve that problem.

The other item is an overbed table.

I already have one of these tables, alongside my bed, which holds everything I might need overnight (water, overnight meds, smartphone, Kindle, next morning’s meds, alarm clock, tissues), and another in the living room that I use as an overchair table.

The new one will go on the other side of the bed, and will actually be used over it to hold my laptop. That way I can be online more easily, if I can’t sleep, than I can just using my smartphone or a tablet and, if I just need rest, I can relax and watch movies – much cheaper than having my Sky installation extended to the bedroom. I can stream movies and TV content both from Sky and Amazon and whoever else out there is offering a free service.

It’s important that you shop around online when buying stuff like this as not only do prices vary wildly, some firms offer disability-related VAT exemption and some do not.

For example, one company offers exemption on all but one of its kitchen trolleys. When asked to explain this anomaly  they replied that they didn’t know why. But here’s a thing. Among the many jobs I’ve done in my time is that of customs clerk, which embraces VAT and Duty. VAT is applied to classes of items, not individually-named items (to do that the Customs Tariff would have to be a more vast and multi-volumed tome than it already is), so if the class “Kitchen Trolley” is exempt for disabled buyers, that means ALL kitchen trolleys – or it did in my day and I can see no reason why that would change. Either the orphan, unexempted, kitchen trolley is an error, or all the other kitchen trolleys are in error.

If the latter, asking HMRC for clarification could conceivably cause nationwide chaos as, if kitchen trolleys have been exempted in error, I have little doubt that HMRC would be keen to claw back the VAT (and possibly – worst case scenario – re-examine the whole system of exemptions). The disabled community is a much easier target than Starbucks or Amazon, after all. So I decided the sleeping bear of HMRC was best not poked with a stick, and I should buy from a firm that not only applied the exemption scheme logically, but was also substantially cheaper.

Which I duly did – see links above.

3 thoughts on “More lifestyle changes…

  1. HI Ron, why do you have to cart your delivered shopping from the door? when i used Tesco for mine, they just asked where did i want it putting… and brought it into the lounge.putting it on my settee so it was easy for me to unpack. kitchen is off the lounge. Recently i changed to Asda (because i was having problems getting low calorie bread and keeping my weight down is more essential than ever now i am not getting out as much as i was.).. first 2 deliveries i asked them to bring it for me. as Tesco did. no problems. the 3rd one objected saying they are not supposed to do so.. i said take it back then because i cant shift it myself from doorstep. he grudgingly brought it in. i then phoned Asda and was told because i hadn’t stated on my order that i would need it bringing indoors he wasn’t supposed to do so… she said she would add a note. and yes next time was fine. i did another order yesterday for weds delivery… and noticed nothing on there asking for it to be brought in. so i added it myself. surely the people delivering it should realise you need help in getting it indoors. i would ring whichever supermarket it is you use and ask about it being brought indoors to the kitchen for you or wherever is best for YOU. i find they are very good.its in their own interests too because anyone elderly/disabled/etc will take much longer carting from doorstep indoors than if the person delivering it brought it in for you.thus saving them time.

    • They would if I wanted them to but there just isn’t room – it has to be moved a bit at a time. They’ll even put it away, too, if you want them to. They frequently offer – I must look as knackered as I feel!

      The thing is, though, if everyone took advantage of that (and let’s face it, some do whether they need help or not – they take the attitude that it’s factored into the price so why shouldn’t they?), they’d never get the job done. Some of mine goes in the main fridge-freezer, some in the bedroom fridge-freezer, other stuff in the kitchen cupboard, yet more in the dead fridge-freezer I use as a cupboard in the kitchen, and the rest in a dead fridge, also used as a kitchen cupboard! By the time I’d explained all that it’s easier to do it myself.

      And, of course, in the narrow hallway there’s my manual wheelchair and my hospital bag – don’t want anyone falling over those.

      With the trolley, which takes up little more floor space than a couple of bags, I can, shift everything at once with little effort.

      My ex once said – on the way out – that I was too bloody independent for my own good. She probably had a point!

Comments are closed.