The future has wheels…

History has been made – I’m sitting here, tweeting from my powerchair for the very first time.

Since my surgery, now, isn’t guaranteed to happen wheels are essential. Yep, I know I’ve said that before, but I keep putting it off as there’s no way back once committed.

My powerchair makes sense – zero effort involved – but the seat is a bit too high and it’s on its lowest setting – already got back and neck ache just typing this – so it looks like I’ll be using my manual wheelchair as that’s exactly the right height. Back in a minute – just going to swap.

So, OK, swapped, and back in my Quickie Life. Still not wildly comfy, but I know it’s ergonomically sound as I’ve tried it before, it’s just a matter of getting used to it.

Next time I’m in hospital it’ll be going with me, and the first nurse to kick it out of the way is going to wind up with her arse in a sling! And they can clear all the crap out of the wheelchair-accessible bathroom, too (routinely used for storage, where they exist at all), as I’ll be wanting it.

The beauty of my manual chair is that it’s custom-built so fits me perfectly and is as close to pain-free – suitably fortified with morphine – as I can get.

2 thoughts on “The future has wheels…

  1. ” Next time I’m in hospital it’ll be going with me, and the first nurse to kick it out of the way is going to wind up with her arse in a sling! ” In that case Ron you better advise the Hospital staff to get busy making slings 😉 Good to see your sense of humour is still in good shape.

Comments are closed.